What is Gluten ?

Tk Team Member -

Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat. It acts as a glue holding foods together and helps maintain their shape.  Wheat, barley, and rye are known as the Big 3 gluten-containing foods but hidden sources of gluten can be found almost anywhere.

 There are three general groups of individuals who follow gluten-free diets; those with celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or those who are “gluten-sensitive.” Most individuals who are following a gluten-free diet are “gluten-sensitive.”

 A gluten-free diet (GFD) is the cornerstone of treatment for each of these conditions. This diet excludes the protein gluten in order to help control signs and symptoms and prevent complications. This diet must be strictly adhered to for those with celiac disease or a wheat allergy, while those with gluten sensitivity can often tolerate a small amount of gluten in the diet. 

At TK, we are aware of the highly individualized needs of those with celiac disease, and have created gluten-free recipes to help cater to those who are in need of avoiding gluten, however, we always stress that individuals check with their physician before ordering.

Have more questions? Submit a request


Powered by Zendesk